NYU CEDA team members volunteer over 300 hours of community service each year to help administer the International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) with the Brewer Foundation.  Founded in 2001, the IPPF is the only contest that gives high school students globally the opportunity to engage in written and oral debates on issues of public policy involving on average over 200 high schools in 15 countries and over  800 students each yr.

The IPPF is administered by the Brewer Foundation and NYU, with the NYU CEDA team serving as judges, essay graders, school ambassadors, and facilitators for the event.  This year, the team added E-Host to the description administering a series of pre-events, all of the Elite 8 elimination rounds and streaming the IPPF final round.   With extensive help of the NYU team and the tremendous leadership of Brewer Attorneys LLC, the IPPF is available to any and all public and private high schools across the globe for FREE.


The Brewer firm and managing partner Bill Brewer were recently recognized by 2020 Best Lawyers in America in the area of Commercial Litigation. Both our Dallas and New York offices received special honors. The Best Lawyers in America recognition is based on interviews with corporate clients and peer evaluations, making it one of the most prestigious honors in the profession.  Brewer takes on tough cases from Voting Rights Act to the NRA's 1st Amendment matters.  

The firm's commitment to community service extends far beyond IPPF.  The Brewer Storefront recently prevailed in several Voting Rights Act cases. As a result, the Richardson Independent School District adopted a new electoral system and elected its first candidate of color under that framework.  The Foundation also runs the Future Leaders Program [FLP], a public-private partnership that lights a path to college for deserving students from the Dallas Independent School District awarding scholarships to Pomona College, NYU and Amherst to name a few.  30 FLP scholars graduated in 2019.


Extraordinary Education Centre (Toronto, Canada) - Ariana Teng 

Ministry of Education (Singapore) 

– Jessica Li

North Allegheny Senior High School (Pennsylvania)

- Adelle Fernando

Pine-Richland High School (Gibsonia, Pa)

- Deanna Ciacciarelli 

Bergen County Debate Club (Fort Lee, NJ) 

- Thomas Ku

Potomac Oak (Rockville, MD) 

- Sachi Reddy 

Amity Regional High School (Woodbridge, CT)
- Alejandro Scott 

Wasatch Independent (Riverton, Utah)

- Maggie Pierce  


  IPPF Topic 



2019 IPPF Finals Pictured: Front Row  Judges Will Baker, Director, NYU Global Debate Program, NYU President Emeritus John Sexton, Dr. Richard N. Haass, President, Council on Foreign Relations, Maggie Berthiaume, Director of Debate at Woodward Academy, and Ed Lee, EdD, senior director of the Alben W. Barkley Forum for Debate, Deliberation, and Dialogue. Final Second Row the competitors from left to right: Notre Dame HS debaters: Patricia Suico. Jack Daggenhurst, Simon Callaghan and Jasper HS debaters: Angela W. Wang,  Lillian K. Ye, Tejas Bansal

2022-23 ELITE EIGHT 

With hundreds of talented students competing from multiple countries and dozens of states, these programs survived to debate in the 2022-23 Elite Eight.  Here are the results: 


​Potomac Oak advances over 

Mountain Vista advances over 

Extraordinary Education Centre advances over 

The Hockaday School advances over


The Hockoday School advances over Mountain Vista High School

Potomac Oak advances over Extraordinary Education Center


Potomac Oak defeats the Hockaday School and is named the 2023 IPPF Champion!!

International Public Policy Forum